Pique: I’m no longer in world’s top three defenders

Barcelona ace Gerard Pique
has conceded that he can no
longer consider himself
among the top three
defenders in the world.
The Spain international endured a trying 2013-14
season for club and country, with the Blaugrana failing
to lift a major trophy and La Roja suffering a
humiliating first-round exit at this summer’s World
Cup.
Pique’s form was the subject of much debate
throughout and he has now admitted that he has fallen
below his usually high standard.
“Right now I’m not even in the top three [defenders] in
the world,” the centre-half said in a press conference
on Thursday.
“I can’t be for the season I had with Barca and the
World Cup with the national team. I know that to play
at Barca I have to be among the top three in the
world. I also know that I can regain form and I will do.
“But if I can’t live up to the highest standards, I’m the
first to raise my hand and say I can’t.
“I’m convinced that Luis Enrique will help me and I’ll
get my level up again.”
Indeed, Pique is confident that Luis Enrique is the man
to restore Barcelona to their former glory after a
dismal season under Gerardo Martino.
“It [last season] was a failure,” he confessed. “Barca
only won the Spanish Super Cup. We failed in the Copa
[del Rey] and the league ended up worse.
“But it’s clear that if we can improve we will be close
to the trophies, if done with humility and hard work.
Barca now have the ingredients to do something
great.”
Barca were eliminated from the Champions League at
the quarter-final stage by Atletico Madrid before
theing pipped to the Primera Division title on the final
day of the season by Diego Simeone’s side.

Leave a comment